Weekend Writing Challenge: Sometimes They Fight

An argument between friends can be very revealing.

Sarah was outraged, “You didn’t tell me she was coming.”
“What difference does it make? Why are you so annoyed?” replied a frustrated Paul.
“Really? You really don’t know why I’m mad?” Sarah continued, “Well, lets see, maybe it was because I didn’t know I was going to be made the thrid wheel on your date tonight.” she screamed.
“It was not a date ok?”
“Don’t you dare lie to me like that. That girl clearly wants to get into your pants. Don’t even think about denying it. And what’s worse? You have a freakin’ girlfriend waiting back home for you. Why the hell haven’t you mentioned her to your new-found passion huh?”
“I’ve explained it before, I don’t like to discuss my private life with people I don’t know. If I say that I have a girlfriend, it’s like I’m building a wall. That’s the only reason why I didn’t tell her. Besides, I made it clear to her that I just want to be friends.”
“Listen Paul, no matter how much you tell a girl you just want to be friends, she has hope that someday you’ll change your mind and want to be more. You very well know that, you just don’t want to admit it. You know why? Because you like the attention and you find her attractive as well. Don’t deny it.”
“Ok, so what if I find her attractive? That doesn’t mean that I’m going to act on it. Can’t I just hang out with her?”
“Well then, why don’t you tell her that you have a girlfriend and see if she still wants to hang out? Hmm, why won’t you do that? And don’t give me any of that privacy bullshit again.”
Paul looked down at his hands, avoiding Sarah’s gaze. “Because it’s too late now. If I tell her now, she’ll think I’m a dick and I’ve been leading her on.”
“There you go, that’s the real answer. You have been leading her on. And you like that a girl like her is attracted to you. So you’re pretending to want to just be friends with her. Well, you’re not fooling anyone.” Sarah paused and went on, “You know what, all that is beside the freakin’ point. I don’t care what you do with your life. Mess it up as much as you want as long as it doesn’t interfere with mine. You know bloody well that you should’ve told me that she was coming along. You didn’t tell me cause you knew I would back out and then it would really be like a date. The next time you try to pull a trick like that, I will fucking put you down and kick your sorry ass all the way back to god only knows where.”
“Sarah, I..”
“Oh shut up. And stay out of my life till you sort your’s out.”

Powered by Plinky

Leave a Reply

